H-Net: Humanities and Social Sciences OnLine

Established: 1993. Membership: 180,000+. Annual dues: None.

Website: http://www.h-net.org/

Statement of Purpose: H-Net: Humanities and Social Sciences OnLine is an international consortium of scholars and teachers dedicated to developing the enormous potential of the Internet and World Wide Web in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. H-Net is committed to pioneering the use of new communication technology to facilitate the free exchange of academic ideas and scholarly resources. Among H-Net’s most important activities is its sponsorship of over 180 free, discussion networks (“lists”), which are edited by scholars worldwide (in North America, Europe, Africa, Latin America, Asia, and the Pacific) making H-Net the world’s largest distributor of academic discussion networks. The goals of H-Net lists are to enable scholars to easily communicate current research and teaching interests; to discuss new approaches, methods, and tools of analysis; to share information on electronic databases; and to test new ideas and share comments on the literature in their fields. These networks provide a timely distribution of announcements, scholarly book reviews, teaching materials, and other breaking news in the discipline. H-Net also offers such services as a weekly job guide and an academic announcements bulletin board. Logs of all messages are permanently saved and can be easily searched from the H-Net website.

Publications: 180+ electronic discussion networks (http://www.h-net.org/lists/); H-Net Reviews (http://www.h-net.org/reviews/); H-Net's Job Guide for the Humanities and Social Sciences (http://www.h-net.org/jobs/); H-Announce academic announcements portal (http://www.h-net.org/announce/)

Address
H-Net: Humanities and Social Sci. OnLine
506 E. Circle Dr.
141H Old Horticulture Bldg.
East Lansing, MI 48824-1115
Phone: 517.432.5134

Primary Contact: Peter B. Knupfer, Exec. Dir.

Officers

President
Melanie R. Shell-Weiss
Grand Valley State Univ.
E-mail: shellm@gvsu.edu

Past President
Gene B. Preuss
Univ. of Houston, Downtown
E-mail: preussg@uhd.edu

President-elect
Jean A. Stuntz
West Texas A&M Univ.
E-mail: jstuntz@wtamu.edu

Vice President, Networks
Jonathan David Anuik
Univ. of Alberta
E-mail: anuik@ualberta.ca

Vice President, Research and Publications
Robert V. Cassanello
Univ. of Central Florida
E-mail: robert.cassanello@ucf.edu

Vice President, Teaching and Learning
Monika Lehner
Univ. of Vienna
E-mail: monika.lehner@univie.ac.at

Executive Director
Peter B. Knupfer
Michigan State Univ.
E-mail: pknupfer@gmail.com

Associate Director
Heather Hawley
H-Net: Humanities and Social Sci. OnLine
E-mail: hawley@mail.h-net.msu.edu

Editor, H-Net Reviews
Basia A. Nowak
H-Net: Humanities and Social Sci. OnLine
E-mail: nowak.27@osu.edu

Editor, H-Net Reviews
Charlotte E. Weber
Ohio State Univ.
E-mail: weber.182@osu.edu

Staff Editor and Secretary
Ryan Dunch
Univ. of Alberta
E-mail: ryan.dunch@ualberta.ca

Council Member
Kevin M. DeJesus
Rhode Island Coll.
E-mail: kevinm.dejesus@gmail.com

Council Member
Linda E. Dwyer
Salisbury Univ.
E-mail: ledwyer@salisbury.edu

Council Member
Joseph J. Ferreira
King Philip Regional High Sch.
E-mail: ferreiraj@kingphilip.org

Council Member
Scott N. Hendrix
Cuyahoga Comm. Coll.
E-mail: hendsn1@gmail.com

Council Member
Randolph Hollingsworth
Univ. of Kentucky
E-mail: dolph@uky.edu

Council Member
Michael D. Innis-Jimenez
Univ. of Alabama
E-mail: mdinnisjimenez@bama.ua.edu

Council Member
Yocheved Menashe
Israel Ministry of Education
E-mail: menashe@mail.h-net.msu.edu

Council Member
A. Charles Muller
Univ. of Tokyo
E-mail: acmuller@jj.em-net.ne.jp

Council Member
Tanya L. Roth
Mary Inst. Country Day Sch.
E-mail: tanya.roth@gmail.com