Organization of American Historians

Established: 1907. Affiliate since May 1993. Membership: 11,500. Annual dues: $35 student; $50 history educator; $50 emeritus or retired; $40 to $190 regular membership depending on income.

Website: http://www.oah.org/

Statement of Purpose: The OAH is an association of historians dedicated to the promotion of teaching and scholarship about the history of the United States both before and after its formation as a nation-state. The organization pursues these goals by encouraging and supporting excellence in historic research, interpretation, and publication; advancing the teaching and practice of American history at all levels and in all settings; promoting the widest possible access to historical sources and scholarship and the widest possible discussion of historical questions and controversies, including advocacy for professional scholarly standards where appropriate; generating support for the preservation, dissemination, and exhibition of sources dealing with the history of the United States; and encouraging respectful and equitable treatment for all practitioners of history.

Annual Meeting: March or April

Publications: Journal of American History, quarterly; Magazine of History, quarterly; OAH Newsletter, quarterly; Annual Meeting Program

Address
Organization of American Historians
112 N. Bryan Ave.
Bloomington, IN 47408-4141
Phone: 812.855.7311

Primary Contact: Katherine Finley, Exec. Dir.

Officers

President
Alan Kraut
American Univ.
E-mail: akraut@american.edu

President-Elect
Patricia Nelson Limerick
Univ. of Colorado, Boulder
E-mail: pnl@centerwest.org

Vice President
Jon Butler
Yale Univ.
E-mail: jon.butler@yale.edu

Treasurer
Jay S. Goodgold
Independent Investor

Executive Director
Katherine Mandusic Finley
Organization of American Historians
E-mail: kmfinley@oah.org

Executive Editor
Edward T. Linenthal
Indiana Univ.
E-mail: etl@indiana.edu

Managing Editor, Journal of American History
Stephen Douglas Andrews
Organization of American Historians
E-mail: standrew@indiana.edu

Marketing and Communications Specialist
Michael Regoli
Organization of American Historians
E-mail: mregoli@oah.org

Director, Meetings
Hajnalka Gajdacs Selby
Organization of American Historians
E-mail: hselby@oah.org

Lectureship Program Coordinator
Annette Windhorn
Organization of American Historians
E-mail: awindhorn@oah.org

Director, Membership and Program Development
Elisabeth B. Marsh
Organization of American Historians
E-mail: ebmarsh@oah.org