Board of Editors, American Historical Review

Established: By the Constitution and appointed by the Council on nomination by the editor in consultation with the Research Division.

Purpose: To advise and assist the AHR editor in his or her editorial duties.

Membership: 12 members

Assignment to Division: Research Division


  • David A. Bell, Princeton Univ., Modern Europe

  • Herman L. Bennett, Graduate Center, CUNY, Theory and Methods

  • Timothy J. Brook, Univ. of British Columbia, Asia

  • Harold J. Cook, Brown Univ., Early Modern Europe

  • Belinda J. Davis, Rutgers Univ., New Brunswick, Modern Europe, Central

  • Greg Grandin, New York Univ., Latin America

  • Susan Juster, Univ. of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Early America

  • Prasannan Parthasarathi, Boston Coll., South Asia

  • Jan Plamper, Goldsmiths, Univ. of London, Eastern Europe and Russia

  • Emily S. Rosenberg, Univ. of California, Irvine, Modern United States

  • Carol Symes, Univ. of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, Medieval

  • Judith E. Tucker, Georgetown Univ., Middle East

  • Megan Vaughan, King's Coll., Univ. of Cambridge, Africa