Albert J. Beveridge Award

To promote and honor outstanding historical writing, the American Historical Association offers each year the Albert J. Beveridge Award in American History. The award was established on a biennial basis in 1939 and has been awarded annually since 1945. It honors US Senator Albert J. Beveridge (Indiana, 1899–1911), a longtime member of the Association and an active supporter of history as both a lawyer and a senator.

The Beveridge Fund was created by a gift of $50,000 from Mrs. Catherine Beveridge in honor of her husband in 1927. Mrs. Beveridge wrote to the AHA of her desire for “a separate fund bearing my husband’s name and devoted to research in American history.” The fund was augmented by donations from friends of Senator Beveridge and the scope of the award was enlarged to encompass Latin America and Canada as well as the United States.

The award is given for a distinguished book in English on the history of the United States, Latin America, or Canada, from 1492 to the present. Books that employ new methodological or conceptual tools or that constitute significant reexaminations of important interpretive problems will be given preference. Literary merit is also an important criterion. General rules for submission are:

  1. Biographies, monographs, and works of synthesis and interpretation are eligible; translations, anthologies, and collections of documents are not.
  2. Only books bearing an imprint of 2013 are eligible for the 2014 prize.
  3. Nominators must complete the online Data Collection Form for each book submitted.
  4. No more than five titles from any one publisher may be submitted.
  5. One copy of each entry must be sent to each of the following committee members and clearly labeled “Beveridge Award Entry.” Electronic copies may be sent to committee members who have indicated they will accept them.

Please Note: Entries must be postmarked or transmitted by May 15, 2014, to be eligible for the 2014 competition. Entries will not be returned. Recipients will be announced at the January 2–5, 2015, AHA annual meeting in New York City.

For questions, please contact the Prize Administrator, or call 202-544-2422.

Contact Information for Committee Members

Send one copy to each committee member and complete the Data Collection Form.

Cornelia H. Dayton Kristin L. Hoganson David A. Hollinger
447 Zaicek Rd. Univ. of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign Univ. of California, Berkeley
Ashford, CT 06278 Dept. of History Dept. of History
309 Gregory Hall 3229 Dwinelle Hall
810 S. Wright St. MC#2550
Urbana, IL 61801-3697 Berkeley, CA 94720-2550
Emilio Kouri Stephen A. Mihm
Univ. of Chicago Univ. of Georgia
Dept. of History Dept. of History
1126 E. 59th St. 302 LeConte Hall
Chicago, IL 60637-1554 Athens, GA 30602-1602