Helen & Howard R. Marraro Prize

The Marraro Prize is one of three annual awards for the best book or article on Italy established by Howard R. Marraro (b. 1897), a historian of Italian culture. Marraro made bequests to the American Historical Association, the American Catholic Historical Association, and the Society for Italian Historical Studies to allow each association to award a prize. The American Historical Association administers the competition for all three awards. See the list of past recipients. The general rules for submission are:

  1. Each award will be given for the book or article deemed best by the committee, which treats Italian history in any epoch, Italian cultural history, or Italian-American relations. Entries must first have been published in English by a historian whose usual residence is North America.
  2. Books or articles with an imprint of 2013 are eligible for the 2014 award.
  3. Nominators must complete the online Data Collection Form for each book submitted.
  4. One copy of each entry must be sent to each of the following committee members and clearly labeled “Marraro Prize Entry.” Electronic copies may be sent to committee members who have indicated they will accept them.

Please Note: Entries must be postmarked or transmitted by May 15, 2014, to be eligible for the 2014 competition. Entries will not be returned. Recipients will be announced at the January 2–5, 2015, AHA annual meeting in New York City.

For questions, please contact the Prize Administrator, or call 202-544-2422.

Contact Information for Committee Members

Send one copy to each committee member and complete the Data Collection Form.

Alison K. Frazier Borden W. Painter Jr. Valerie Ramseyer
Univ. of Texas, Austin 110 Ledgewood Rd. Wellesley Coll.
Dept. of History Hartford, CT 06107-3734 Dept. of History
128 Inner Campus Dr. B7000 106 Central St.
Austin, TX 78712-1739 Wellesley, MA 02481
Will accept e-book submissions
at vramseye@wellesley.edu