Herbert Baxter Adams Prize

Herbert Baxter AdamsThe American Historical Association offers the Herbert Baxter Adams Prize annually for a distinguished book published in English in the field of European history. The Adams prize was established in 1905 in memory of the first secretary of the Association, Herbert Adams of Johns Hopkins University, who was also one of the Association’s founders. The Adams Prize and the Leo Gershoy Award (also bestowed by the AHA) are widely considered to be the most prestigious prizes in the field of European history. The prize is offered on a rotating basis: in even years for books on European history from ancient times to 1815; in odd years for books on European history from 1815 through the 20th century.

In 2015, books on European history from 1815 through the 20th century will be eligible for the competition. The general rules for submission are:

  1. Since the prize is designed especially to encourage scholars who have not yet obtained an established reputation, the entry must be the author's first substantial book. Textbooks in the strict sense of the word are not eligible, but a work of wide scope which interprets a major period or area would certainly qualify. Pamphlets, anthologies, edited works, and other small-scale efforts will not qualify.
  2. Books published in English bearing an imprint of 2013 or 2014 are eligible for the 2015 prize.
  3. The submission of an entry may be made by an author or by a third party as well as by a publisher. Publishers may submit as many entries as they wish.
  4. Nominators must complete an online prize submission form for each book submitted.
  5. One copy of each entry must be sent to each committee member and clearly labeled “Adams Prize Entry.” Electronic copies may be sent only to committee members who have indicated they will accept them.

Please Note: Entries must be postmarked or transmitted by May 15, 2015, to be eligible for the 2015 competition. Entries will not be returned. Recipients will be announced at the January 2016 AHA annual meeting in Atlanta.

For questions, please contact the Prize Administrator.

Contact Information for Committee Members

Send one copy to each committee member and complete the prize submission form (above).

Gary B. Cohen Susan R. Grayzel Craig M. Koslofsky
Univ. of Minnesota, Twin Cities Univ. of Mississippi Univ. of Illinois
Dept. of History Dept. of History Dept. of History
1110 Heller Hall 310 Bishop Hall 309 Gregory Hall
271 19th Ave. S. University, MS 38677-1848 810 S. Wright St.
Minneapolis, MN 55455 Urbana, IL 61801
Michael Kwass  
220 Ridgewood Rd.
Baltimore, MD 21210-2539