Herbert Feis Award

Herbert FeisEstablished in 1984, this prize is offered annually to recognize distinguished contributions to public history, broadly defined. The prize is named in memory of Herbert Feis (1893–1972), public servant and historian of recent American foreign policy, with an initial endowment from the Rockefeller Foundation.

Individuals and collaborative groups are eligible to apply. Contributions could, for example, include work as the administrator of a public history group or agency (such as a historical society, a historic site, or a community history project) or as the creator or producer of a public history product or products (such as a museum exhibit, radio script, web site, oral history collection, or film). Often, the contribution will be the result of years of effort in the field, but the prize might also recognize a singular contribution of major importance such as a pathbreaking museum exhibit. Public history is defined as work primarily directed at non-academic, non-school-based audiences. Those audiences could be very broad (e.g., television viewers) or highly specialized (e.g., policymakers). Although the audience should be primarily outside of academia, the recipient(s) of the award could be employed at a university.

Recipients will be selected from nominations (or self nominations). Each nomination packet should include the following:

  1. CV (no more than five pages) for each nominee
  2. a statement of no more than five pages in length describing the individual's or group's public history contribution
  3. up to 10 pages of appropriate supporting materials (e.g., letters of support, samples of exemplary products, e.g. exhibit scripts, interpretive plans, National Register Nominations, gray literature or policy papers, finding aids). Please note that books are not accepted as the sole basis for the award, though they can be cited as part of the nominee's contribution to the field of public history.

The nomination packages of those who do not receive the award will be kept on file for five years. The nominator may submit an update, if they wish.

Nomination packages may be submitted electronically (preferred) or in hard copy in the following manner:

  1. Electronic submissions should be e-mailed as a pdf attachment to awards@historians.org with the subject line “Feis Award Entry“ and will be distributed to each member of the prize committee.
  2. Nominations submitted in hard copy should be clearly labeled “Feis Award Entry” and sent to each of the committee members listed below and to American Historical Association, Attn. Feis Prize, 400 A St. SE, Washington, DC 20003. Nominations without all the required documents will not be considered.

Please Note: Nominations must be postmarked or transmitted by May 15, 2014, to be considered for the 2014 prize. Nomination materials will not be returned. Recipients will be announced at the January 2–5, 2015, AHA annual meeting in New York City.

For questions, please contact the Prize Administrator, or call 202-544-2422.

Contact Information for Committee Members

Send electronic submissions in PDF to awards@historians.org. For hard copy submissions, send one to each committee member below.

James R. Akerman James F. Brooks Eric Sandweiss
Smith Center for the History PO Box 672 Indiana Univ.
of Cartography, Newberry Library Tesuque, NM 87574 Dept. of History
60 Walton St. 1020 E. Kirkwood Ave.
Chicago, IL 60610 Ballantine Hall 742
Bloomington, IN 47405-7103
Patricia A. Schechter Carroll Van West
Portland State Univ. Center for Historic Preservation
Dept. of History Middle Tennessee State Univ.
Box 751 PO Box 80
Portland, OR 97207-0751 Murfreesboro, TN 37132