John E. O'Connor Film Award

In recognition of his exceptional role as a pioneer in both teaching and research regarding film and history, the American Historical Association has established this award in honor of John E. O’Connor, New Jersey Institute of Technology. The honorific award seeks to recognize outstanding interpretations of history through the medium of film or video and may be awarded in each of two categories: Dramatic Feature and Documentary.

This award is presented in the form of a certificate. Award winners will be screened at the AHA's annual meeting, if appropriate permissions can be obtained. One person associated with each winning film will be invited to host the screening. See the list of past recipients.

Nominated films and videos will be assessed according to the following criteria:

  1. Stimulation of Interest in History: The production should arouse interest in the past and encourage viewers to ask questions about historical interpretations.
  2. Imaginative Use of the Media: The production should provide a unique perspective on the past through compelling use of aural and visual techniques and narrative structure. Successful nominees may take a wide variety of approaches to the past, including innovative presentational approaches beyond the traditional linear narrative.
  3. Effective Presentation of Historical Subject: The production should communicate its subject in ways that engage and enlighten viewers and encourage them to seek additional insights through reading and other media. It should be informed by trends in recent historical scholarship and make a contribution, in its own right, to the public’s understanding of and appreciation for history.

Eligibility Requirements

  1. Dramatic feature and documentary films and videos (including web-based) will be considered for the award.
  2. Films or videos must be in English or have English-language subtitles or dubbing.
  3. Films or videos must have been copyrighted or first screened or broadcast in 2012, 2013, or 2014 to be eligible for the 2015 award.
  4. Films and videos should be no longer than feature length. If the nomination is for a series, then one episode only shall be nominated and considered by the prize committee. If that episode is determined to win the prize in either Documentary or Dramatic Feature categories, then the prize will be awarded to that episode only. The series as a whole to which the episode belongs shall be acknowledged in the award announcement.

Nominating Procedures

  1. AHA members will nominate films and videos through AHA Communities by May 15. The committee may also seek nominations or receive nominations from filmmakers, film critics, and the general public. In order to advance to the competition, all nominated films and videos must receive at least one additional endorsement from an AHA member, which can include members of the prize committee.
  2. Filmmakers should send nominations to and must submit one copy of each entry in DVD or a free and universally accessible online streaming format to each of the committee members. In the case of web-based videos with free access, functioning URLs must be provided.
  3. The review committee will only consider a film for which a screening copy can be obtained free of charge.
  4. Nominations must specify the category—Documentary or Dramatic Feature—for which the film should be considered.
  5. Entries will not be returned.

Contact Information for Committee Members

If submitting DVDs, filmmakers should send one copy to each committee member.

Philip J. Ethington Desiree J. Garcia Theresa E. Runstedler
Univ. of Southern California Arizona State Univ. American University
Dept. of History Film and Media Studies/English Dept. of History
3502 Trousdale Pkwy. PO Box 870302 4400 Massachusetts Ave NW
SOS 153 Tempe, AZ 85287 Washington, DC 20016
Los Angeles, CA 90089-0034