Leo Gershoy Award

In 1975 Mrs. Ida Gershoy made a gift to the Association in order to establish a prize in memory of her husband, Leo Gershoy. Professor Gershoy was a specialist in European history associated with the faculty of New York University for more than 35 years. The prize named in his honor is awarded to the author of the most outstanding work published in English on any aspect of 17th- and 18th-century European history. The general rules for submission are:

  1. The prize is awarded annually to the author of the most outstanding work published in English on any aspect of the fields of 17th- and 18th-century western European history. Only books of high scholarly and literary merit will be considered.
  2. Books with an imprint of 2013 will be eligible for the 2014 award.
  3. Nominators must complete the online Data Collection Form for each book submitted.
  4. One copy of each entry must be sent to each of the following committee members and clearly marked “Gershoy Award Entry.” Electronic copies may be sent to committee members who have indicated they will accept them.

Please Note: Entries must be postmarked or transmitted by May 15, 2014, to be considered for the 2014 competition. Entries will not be returned. Recipients will be announced at the January 2–5, 2015, AHA annual meeting in New York City.

For questions, please contact the Prize Administrator, or call 202-544-2422.

Contact Information for Committee Members

Send one copy to each committee member and complete the Data Collection Form.

Marc R. Forster Richard L. Kagan Robert C. Ritchie
Connecticut Coll. 130 S. 18th St. Huntington Library
Dept. of History Unit 2003 1151 Oxford Rd.
Box 5497 Philadelphia, PA 19103 San Marino, CA 91108-1218
270 Mohegan Ave.
New London, CT 06320
Rebecca L. Spang Magda Teter
Indiana Univ. Wesleyan Univ.
Dept. of History Dept. of History
1020 E. Kirkwood Ave. Public Affairs Center 113
Ballantine Hall 742 238 Church St.
Bloomington, IN 47405-7103 Middletown, CT 06459