Littleton-Griswold Prize

In 1961, the Littleton-Griswold Fund Committee created the Littleton-Griswold Prize for studies in the legal history of the American colonies and of the United States prior to 1900. The prize was not awarded, however, until 1966, and was abolished the following year. In 1985, Council revived the prize as an annual award for the best book in any subject on the history of American law and society, broadly defined. The revived prize is administered by a joint committee of the American Historical Association and the American Society for Legal History.

The general rules for submission are:

  1. Only books of high scholarly and literary merit will be considered.
  2. Books with an imprint of 2013 will be eligible for consideration for the 2014 award.
  3. Nominators must complete the online Data Collection Form for each book submitted.
  4. One copy of each entry must be sent to each of the following committee members and clearly labeled “Littleton-Griswold Prize Entry.” Electronic copies may be sent to committee members who have indicated they will accept them.

Please Note: Entries must be postmarked or transmitted by May 15, 2014, to be eligible for the 2014 competition. Entries will not be returned. Recipients will be announced at the January 2–5, 2015, AHA annual meeting in New York City.

For questions, please contact the Prize Administrator, or call 202-544-2422.

Contact Information for Committee Members

Send one copy to each committee member and complete the Data Collection Form.

Adrienne Davis Michael C. Grossberg Michael Meranze
Washington Univ., St. Louis Indiana Univ. 2445 28th St.
Law Sch. Dept. of History Apt. E
One Brookings Dr. 1020 E. Kirkwood Ave. Santa Monica, CA 90405
Saint Louis, MO 63130 Ballantine Hall 742
Bloomington, IN 47405-7103
Alison M. Parker Deborah A. Rosen
State Univ. of New York, Coll. at Brockport Lafayette Coll.
Dept. of History Dept. of History
350 New Campus Dr. Ramer History House
Brockport, NY 14420-2956 718 Sullivan Rd.
Easton, PA 18042-1768