Wesley-Logan Prize

Charles H. WesleyRayford W. LoganThe Wesley-Logan Prize in African diaspora history is jointly sponsored by the American Historical Association and the Association for the Study of African American Life & History. The prize is awarded annually for an outstanding book in African diaspora history. The AHA Committee on Minority Historians established the prize in 1992 in memory of two early pioneers in the field, Charles H. Wesley and Rayford W. Logan. The general rules for submission are:

  1. The prize is offered for a book on some aspect of the history of the dispersion, settlement and adjustment, and/or return of peoples originally from Africa. Eligible for consideration are books in any chronological period and any geographical location. Only books of high scholarly and literary merit will be considered.
  2. Books with an imprint of 2013 are eligible for the 2014 award.
  3. Nominators must complete the online Data Collection Form for each book submitted.
  4. One copy of each entry must be sent to each of the following committee members and clearly labeled “Wesley-Logan Prize Entry.” Electronic copies may be sent to committee members who have indicated they will accept them.

Please Note: Entries must be postmarked or transmitted by May 15, 2014, to be eligible for the 2014 competition. Entries will not be returned. Recipients will be announced at the January 2–5, 2015, AHA annual meeting in New York City.

For questions, please contact the Prize Administrator, or call 202-544-2422.

Contact Information for Committee Members

Send one copy to each committee member and complete the Data Collection Form.

Edda L. Fields-Black Frank A. Guridy Jim C. Harper II
Carnegie Mellon Univ. Univ. of Texas, Austin North Carolina Central Univ.
Dept. of History Dept. of History Dept. of History
240 Baker Hall 128 Inner Campus Dr. B7000 1801 Fayetteville St.
Pittsburgh, PA 15213-3890 Austin, TX 78712-1739 Durham, NC 27707
Will accept Kindle submissions
at fguridy@austin.utexas.edu
Melina Pappademos Walter C. Rucker
Univ. of Connecticut, Storrs 4415 Valley Forge Rd.
Dept. of History Durham, NC 27705
Unit 2103 Wood Hall Will accept Nook submissions
241 Glenbrook Rd. at wrucker@email.unc.edu
Storrs Mansfield, CT 06269
Will accept e-book submissions
at melina.pappademos@uconn.edu
AFTER MAY 12 mail books to
166 Overbrook Rd.
West Hartford, CT 06107